In my last post outlining the different GSkit commands for SSL administration, I forgot to mention a couple of tools that I regularly use: SSL Config Wizard and SSLcheck.

They are both SupportPacs provided free from ibm.com.

WebSphere MQ SSL Wizard

screenshot - MO04 SSL wizard A Java GUI which shows you a series of forms to collect the information needed to create your SSL certificates and key repositories. It then uses this to generate the commands that you need to set it up.

This is very useful as a quick way to write the commands you need without needing to remember the GSkit syntax!

WebSphere MQ SSL Checker

screenshot - MH03 SSLcheck A command-line tool which examines an existing SSL configuration looking for common configuration mistakes and providing recommendations for resolving problems.

It’s useful as a quick sanity check on a new setup, or to examine existing setups for potential problems that you might not have been aware of.

(Apologies for the blatant self-promotion, as this SupportPac is actually one of mine – but I do find it useful. If I didn’t, I wouldn’t have wrote it!)

Does anyone else have any tools that they use to help with SSL?

